Back to All Events

20th Annual NAMI Waukesha Awards Dinner

  • Holiday Inn Pewaukee Milwaukee West N14W24140 Tower Place Pewaukee, WI 53072 (map)

Please join NAMI Waukesha on Tuesday, March 3, 2015, as we celebrate our 20th Annual Awards Dinner.  At this event, we will honor individuals for their devotion to improving the quality of life for people affected by mental illness. The award categories include: Consumer Advocate of the Year, Mental Health Professional of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, the Excellence in Community Service Award, and the Andrew G. Werlein Advocacy Award.

5:00p Cash Bar & Silent Auction
6:30p Dinner is served
7:30p Awards Ceremony

If you would like to nominate a deserving individual and did not receive a copy of nomination form, please contact Andrea at 262-409-2742 or

Please Note: Nominations are due to theNAMI Waukesha Offices by Monday, January 19 in order to be considered for the 2015 Annual Awards Dinner.

NAMI Waukesha 2015 Annual Award Criteria

Consumer Advocate of the Year This award honors an individual with lived experience who exemplifies the qualities of self-determination, resilience, courage, and tenacity in their recovery journey. This person will have shown specific accomplishments over the last year by demonstrating the ability to live independently, obtain employment, volunteer in the community, participate in social events,  obtain additional education and training, or any other noteworthy actions.

Mental Health Professional of the Year This award recognizes outstanding achievement serving others whose lives have been touched by mental illness. This achievement embodies recovery in words and actions, demonstrates commitment to clients, and reflects the skills to work with diverse cultures. This individual is respected by his/her co-workers and respects all those with whom the individual interacts with each day. This person is an example to others in the areas of professional ethics, knowledge, and performance as a team member. Eligible professionals have worked in the mental health field for at least three years.

Volunteer of the Year This award honors an individual who has given an ample amount of time back to the community in the form of volunteering within the past year.  This individual may or may not have mental illness, but they show the compassion and desire to better the lives of those that have been affected by mental illness.  This person may have volunteered at one or many locations.  

Excellence in Community Service This award is given to a single individual, group of individuals, or organization that provides a service that enhances the lives of people affected by mental illness.  The recipient(s) of this award should be someone who has provided a service that has strengthened our community.

Andrew G. Werlein Advocacy Award This award is given in honor of Andrew G. Werlein for his lifetime of dedication to advocacy and breaking stigma associated with mental illness. The recipient of this award should be someone who has worked as an advocate to fight stigma in an effort with NAMI to help people understand that mental illness is a disease and should be treated as such.

Later Event: May 8
Blue Jean Bingo